Industrial Advisory Board

Comprised of eight highly reputable industry partners, The Industrial Advisory Board works to augment the visibility of the UConn Materials Science and Engineering Department at the university, state, and national level.

Angie Cheung  

Angie Cheung, Chief Materials Science Engineer 
Stanadyne LLC

At Stanadyne, Angie Cheung is leading her organization by expanding its metallurgical engineering and failure analysis capabilities, and developing and improving materials and process requirements globally. With experience in both automotive and aerospace industries, she previously worked at Hamilton Sundstrand in Materials Engineering, and in Materials and Processing and Materials Engineering organizations at Cummins Engine Company-Fuel Systems. Angie received her Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) and an M.S. in Engineering Science from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Hartford).


Bill Fallon, Senior Technical Fellow, Materials & Processes Engineering
Sikorsky Aircraft

Mr. Fallon is a graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and has 32 years of experience in materials and process engineering. He has worked as both a metallurgist in the steel industry and an advanced composite technology engineer in the aerospace industry over the years but has spent most of his time in his current position where he leads, develops, and implements advanced material solutions for Sikorsky Aircraft.


Dave Furrer, Senior Fellow Discipline Lead, Materials & Processes Engineering
Pratt & Whitney

Dr. Furrer has more than 20 years of experience in the areas of aerospace materials engineering and materials and process modeling. In his current position, Dr. Furrer’s primary responsibility is leading fellow Materials Discipline Leaders and Materials Fellows in the development and improvement of technical strategy and engineering standards for the entirety of the Pratt & Whitney Materials and Processes discipline. Dr. Furrer received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in metallurgical engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a doctorate of engineering from the Universität Ulm, Germany.


Peter Jarrett, Chief Technology Officer
Ocular Therapeutix

Dr. Jarrett is a University of Connecticut alumnus, having earned his Ph.D. in polymer science through the Institute of Materials Science in 1983. Prior to becoming CTO of Ocular Therapeutix, Dr. Jarrett has served as Vice President of R&D of Biomaterials for Genzyme and, preceding that, Vice President of Research and Development at Focal, Inc. He is a fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and member of the American Chemical Society, the Society for Biomaterials, the Controlled Release Society, and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.



Joe Mantese, Fellow,
United Technologies Research Center

Prior to his current position as research fellow at the United Technologies Corporation’s research center, Dr. Mantese served as department head at Delphi Research Laboratories, where he was honored and inducted into the corporation’s hall of fame. Prior to Delphi, Dr. Mantese was section leader of sensor development at General Motors Research and Development Laboratories, where he twice won the General Motors’s Campbell Award and the R&D 100 Award. In his current position, Dr. Mantese specializes in electronic materials, components, sensors and packaging. He holds 32 patents and has authored over 90 peer-reviewed papers, one book, and three book chapters.



Howard Orr, President and CEO,
KTI Inc.

Mr. Orr has served as the President of KTI, Inc. since 1972, where he also serves as treasurer and director of the East Windsor, Connecticut-based electron-and laser-beam welding company. Prior to his tenure at KTI, Orr spent two years as a financial analyst in the space program at Hamilton Standard. He received his B.S. degree in Economics and Business Administration from Drury College in Springfield, MO and his MBA from Western New England College in Wilbraham, MA. He continues his lifelong tradition of active volunteering by currently serving on over 25 non-profit boards and committees.



Kathy Saint, President,
Schwerdtle Stamp Co.

Mrs. Saint is president of Schwerdtle Stamp Co., a 134-year-old manufacturing firm located in Bridgeport, Connecticut. She is president of the Manufacturers Education and Training Alliance and past president of Bridgeport Chamber of Commerce, where she continues to serve on the board and chair of the education committee. She is a past board member for CBIA, serves on the Manufacturer’s Advisory Committee, and is a member of the Advanced Manufacturing Advisory Committee at Housatonic Community College. Working with the New Haven Manufacturer’s Association and their Workforce Enhancement Committee, Mrs. Saint is vocal with the governor, state agencies, and legislature in her advocacy for education and the STEM disciplines. She has received numerous awards for her community service, including a finalist distinction for the Connecticut Technology Council’s 2006 “Women of Innovation Award.” Mrs. Saint is also the recipient of the Bridgeport Regional Business Council’s “Impact Award” in 2005 for outstanding leadership, the 2004 Connecticut Community Colleges “Award of Merit,” and the first recipient of the Bridgeport Regional Business Council’s Women’s Leadership Award.


Venkat Vedula, Director, Materials Engineering
UTC Aerospace Systems

Dr. Vedula started his career at United Technologies Corporation in 2000 as a senior engineer at the United Technologies Research Center (UTRC) in East Hartford, CT and has held positions of increasing responsibility throughout his tenure at UTC. In 2011, he joined Hamilton Sundstrand as chief engineer of materials engineering. Dr. Vedula earned a master’s degree in engineering from SUNY Buffalo, a doctorate in materials science and engineering from Pennsylvania State University, and a master’s degree in business from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.